Honeybee

QueerEvents.ca - Book - HoneyBee - Trista
160 pages G USA
ISBN: 9781771681360
Language: English
Publisher: Central Avenue Publishing
Genre: Fiction Poetry
Find Local Bookstore Buy at Indigo

Synopsis

You will meet people in your lifetime who demand to have poems written about them. It’s not something they say. It’s something about their hands, the shape of their mouths, the way they look walking away from you.

"A collection that will beg you to be dogeared, coffee-stained, & shared.”—Amanda Lovelace, author of the princess saves herself in this one

Honeybee is an honest take on walking away and still feeling like you were walked away from. It’s about cutting love loose like a kite string and praying the wind has the decency to carry it away from you. It’s an ode to the back and forth, the process of letting something go but not knowing where to put it down. Honeybee is putting it down. It’s small town girls and plane tickets, a taste of tenderness and honey, the bandage on the bee sting. It’s a reminder that you are not defined by the people you walk away from or the people who walk away from you.

"A spine tingling, heart wrenching, goosebumps-across-your-skin experience."—Nikita Gill, author of Fierce Fairytales

Perfect for fans of Caroline Kaufman, Atticus, Clementine von Radics, Nina LaCour, Adam Silvera, and Becky Albertalli; or anyone interested in bisexuality, heartbreak, running away from your problems, and coming out.

 

QueerEvents.ca- Author - Trista Mateer

Trista Mateer

Trista Mateer is a bisexual writer and visual artist currently based in Maryland.

Mateer first gained traction in the modern poetry scene in 2013 with her self-titled tumblr blog, amassing thousands of readers and hand-making her own chapbooks. She loves building community and now regularly shares her work online to over 150k followers across social media.

In 2015 Mateer won the Goodreads Choice Award for poetry with her self-published edition of The Dogs I Have Kissed. Mateer then teamed up with Central Avenue Publishing in 2018 to re-release her debut poetry collection, Honeybee. And she followed up in 2019 with the illustrated full-color collection, Aphrodite Made Me Do It, which went on to be voted one of the best poetry books of 2019 by readers on Goodreads.

Mateer worked with Random House Children's to create her young adult poetry debut, When the Stars Wrote Back. This collection was released in 2020 as a hardcover with beautiful two-color illustrations by Jessica Cruickshank.

Visit Author Website
Food for Queers Community Program

Food for Queers
Stay Safe. Not Hungry

Providing support for LGBT2Q+ folks experiencing food insecurities within the City of London

No questions. No contact. Just Support!

Future is Queer! #QueerEvents